LEON STEINBERG M.D.
1928 - 2018
{ "" }
Share
Share LEON's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
LEON STEINBERG, MD Leon H. Steinberg, MD, 89, a long-time resident of Las Vegas, passed away January 4, 2018. Leon was born January 8, 1928, in Warsaw, Poland, to the late Morris Aaron Steinberg and the late Lena Baum. He was raised in Poland until May 1938, when at the age of 10, with his parents, left Poland and immigrated to the United States. After finishing high school, Leon enlisted in the U.S. Army from 1946-1948 and served in the Medical Corps. After an honorable discharge from the military, Leon returned to his home in Chicago. He received a Bachelor of Science Degree in 1950. He graduated with highest honors in chemistry and was admitted to the Phi Beta Kappa National Honor Society and continued on to Medical School at the University of Illinois, graduating with his medical degree in 1954. While in medical school, he was elected to Alpha Omega Alpha, the medical honorary fraternity. He completed his residency in Radiology at the University of Illinois Research Hospital and is a Diplomate of the American Board of Radiology. While in the military, Leon met his "B'shert," the love of his life, Frieda, affectionately called Faye, at a Jewish Community Center USO Dance. She was only 16 at the time, so the two went steady while Leon served in the military at San Antonio, Texas. When he was ready to graduate from medical school, he wrote Faye a letter asking her to come to his medical school graduation. Three days after her arrival, he proposed to her. They were married August 28, 1954, in Los Angeles, California. In 1958, Leon moved to Las Vegas, where he founded Sunrise Hospital Department of Radiology (under the direction/administration of Nathan Adelson) and served as Director from 1958-1971. He was also Co-Director of the Department of Radiology at Valley Hospital from 1975-1984. He was in private practice beginning in 1971. In 1988, with his son, Dr. David Steinberg, and Dr. Mark Winkler, opened Steinberg Diagnostic Medical Imaging. It has grown to eight imaging centers with 450 employees and 30 radiologists on staff. He was a member of the Radiology Society of North America, American College of Radiology, American Medical Association, Nevada State Medical Association and the Clark County Medical Society. Leon had a great love of fishing, computers, cameras, electronic gadgets, cars and traveling. But, most important to him were the celebrations and special milestones with his family. Faye and Leon have been honored by multiple organizations. These include the Sheldon and Miriam Adelson Pursuit of Excellence Award, Lifetime Achievement Award from Volunteers in Medicine, Federation Champions of Freedom (Hank Greenspun Founders Award), Hadassah's Man of Distinction Award with an acknowledgment in the Congressional Record for this distinction. They were the Chairs of the Israeli Bonds Drive for multiple years. They are members of the Simon Wiesenthal Holocaust Center in Los Angeles and the National Holocaust Center in Washington, D.C. They have been on multiple missions to Israel with Jewish Nevada, formerly known as Jewish Federation. They have been active members and supporters of Jewish National Fund, Hadassah, Women's American ORT, the Weizmann Institute, The Brandeis-Bardin Institute, Jewish Family Services, The Jewish Community Center of Southern Nevada, Chabad and ADL. They have been members of Temple Beth Sholom since 1958 and generously contributed the Mikveh, Bride's Room and Steinberg Chapel. He was preceded in death by his parents, beloved Morris Aaron Steinberg and Lena Baum Steinberg; his aunt, Helene Krasnow; and by his sister-in-law, June Steinberg. Leon is survived by his wife, of 63 years, Frieda (Faye) Steinberg; children, David and Betsi, Alan and Phyllis, Dinah Faith, Brian and Hillary, Suzanne and Sam Green; and grandchildren, Ari, Elie, Noah, Leah, Eliana, Kalman, Corina, Danica, Tierney, Stuart, Pam and Kenny. He is also survived by his brothers and sister-in-law, Arnie Steinberg of Chicago, and Irv and Elaine Steinberg of Las Vegas. Funeral service will be at noon Monday, January 8. Community Shiva will begin at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, January 9, both at Temple Beth Sholom, 10700 Havenwood Lane, Las Vegas, NV 89135. Memorial donations may be made to the Lou Ruvo Alzheimer's center and/or the Nathan Adelson Hospice. The Steinberg Family would like to thank the endless hours of caregiving provided by his loving and trusted caregivers that made the care for Leon at home possible over the last several years.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Jan. 6, 2018.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
JAN
8
Funeral service
12:00 PM
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Kraft-Sussman Funeral & Cremation Services
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
21 entries
January 17, 2018
To the Steinberg Family:
My thoughts are with you at this time.
The world has lost a GREAT MAN who exhibited kindness and empathy to anyone,
Clark County Nevada has lost an individual of extreme prominence,
The Medical Profession has lost a leader and educator in Radiology,
It was Leon who established Radiology in Clark County to be the respected specialty that it has become and established the way the science was practiced.
He taught his staff how to treat people regardless of their stand in life.
He lives on in his family and the legacy he has so well established.
It was my distinct honor to have shared our many hours professionally with Leon.

Fondly,
Joel Davidson
Joel Davidson
Friend
January 11, 2018
Rest peacefully Sir. It was honor to know you and your beautiful family. Much love, prayers and hugs for comfort ❤
Bernadette Spencer
Friend
January 10, 2018
Our deepest sympathy to the Steinberg family. My wife Chris worked for him many years ago and has many fond memories. Dr. Leon and Dr. David were very kind when our youngest daughter was diagnosed with childhood leukemia. We will never forget that He was a wonderful man and our hearts go out to his family. May he Rest In Peace.
John & Chris Dale
January 9, 2018
May his memory be for a blessing.
Adam Raphael
January 8, 2018
Our deepest condolences to the entire Steinberg Family for the loss of such a great man.

Sincerely
Carlos Hernandez & Family
January 8, 2018
Please accept our condolences and deepest sympathy during this difficult time of sorrow. May your hearts soon be filled with wonderful memories of joyful times together as you celebrate a life well lived.

From all of us at SR Construction
January 8, 2018
My condolences to the Steinberg family .Such a awesome Man.....prayers surrounding the family .Miss the beautuful heart and great smile.Dr.Leon..steinberg employee 17 years strong Bonnie Anderson
Bonnie Anderson
January 8, 2018
Our family has lost a dear friend and cherished mentor. When we arrived here some 20 years ago, you all welcomed us into your home and introduced us to the Jewish community with warm sincerity. Your family became ours as we worked together to build on your history as the Mensch that was "The builder of Las Vegas" Faye, our dearest,
most strong caregiving wife, David and Betsi...Susie and Sam, and all the children, we wish you our sincere condolences. Lee will be missed by so many, it's a great loss.

Bobby and Helen
Robert and Helen Feldman
January 8, 2018
Condolences for your family during this difficult time.

From the family at KNAS Foods
January 8, 2018
To the family of Dr. Steinberg. We express our deepest condolences and send blessings of peace and comfort to all.
Dr. Jack London
January 7, 2018
I AM TYPING IN CAPS BECAUSE I AM LEGALLY BLIND. I AM NOT YELLING.

I WAS AN EMPLOYEE AT SDMI FOR OVER TWELVE YEARS. DR. LEON WAS A WONDERFUL MAN TO WORK FOR. HE ALWAYS TREATED ME NICELY AND FAIRLY. I WILL NEVER FORGET HIM. MY CONDOLENCES TO HIS FAMILY.
Gloria Sainz
January 7, 2018
To David and Betsi...Susie and Sam..and all the children
To Elaine and Irv. And most of all Faye..we wish you our sincere condolences
Susie and Rob Reinish
Sue Reinish
January 7, 2018
To Dr. David & family, Please accept our condolences and deepest sympathy. May you celebrate his life and those who he touched in such a memorable way.
Roy Urspruch, Robin Payton and Canon Medical Systems
January 7, 2018
My entire family and I send our loving condolences to all of you.

Lee was a Very Special man whose memory will remain forever in all who knew and loved him.
Shelly Glazier
January 6, 2018
To Dr. David and Family: Please accept our condolences and deepest sympathy for the loss of Dr. Leon. May God comfort and guide you through this time of sorrow. He was my employer for a while and was always pleasant to me. I always thought he was a good man. May God grant you all the strength you need.

Sincerely,
Deborah, John Hicks and Family.
January 6, 2018
Sincere condolences on your loss.

Greg, Cindy Goussak and family
Greg Goussak
January 6, 2018
Steinberg Family,
I am so sorry for your loss. I spent countless hours as a teenager in your home with your family and have many fond memories. My thoughts are with you all at this time.

Karen LaRue (Levitt)
Karen LaRue
January 6, 2018
To the family of Dr. Leon Steinberg,

I would like to express my sincere condolences for the loss of Dr. Steinberg.

May the Most High God strengthen your family during this difficult time of sorrow. Please find comfort in Psalms 145:18, 19 promise that "he is near to all those calling on him."

Sincerely,
T. Allen
January 6, 2018
An icon of both the medical and Jewish community in Las Vegas. He and Faye welcomed me to both in 1982, and were so supportive when I was president of the Jewish Federation. His legacy will be in Nevada for generations to come. My prayers are with the family...a life to be celebrated.
Allan Boruszak
January 5, 2018
My Thoughts and Prayers are with Faye and the rest of the Family.I had the honor to meet Dr Steinberg many years ago at my job,Nevada Cardiology,and I will miss him so much in the office! I am So Sorry for your Loss! May each of you be Blessed by God's Hand ....
Nancy Mendoza
January 5, 2018
Dr. Steinberg exemplified a life of commitment, endurance and inspiration. May he Rest In Peace.
Michael Schumacher
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences