LARRY KOENTOPP
1936 - 2019
{ "" }
Share
Share LARRY's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
LARRY KOENTOPP Larry Koentopp passed away suddenly January 12, 2019. He was born on November 17, 1936 in Spokane, WA. He was a resident of Las Vegas since 1982, bringing the city it's first-ever Triple-A baseball franchise to Las Vegas. He was a loving Dad, Grandpa, Brother, Uncle, Cousin, and Friend. Larry was a wonderful person, positive, outgoing and kind. He had a quick wit and was full of humor. Larry was always on the go and had a great deal of energy. He enjoyed working out at the gym on a daily basis and golf was one of his favorite past times. He was an active and avid sports fan. At the age of 79, he threw batting practice several days a week to his grandson, Jake. Larry was in amazing physical shape. Larry enjoyed traveling across the country, and internationally, to rate golf courses, for Golf Digest, over several decades. Larry was the majority owner of the Las Vegas Stars, bringing his Spokane Indians Triple-A Pacific Coast League franchise to Las Vegas in September 1982. The Las Vegas franchise won both of its PCL championships under his ownership in 1986 and 1988. The Stars were the recipient of the 1985 John H. Johnson President's Award, given to the franchise for "Outstanding Club Operation." Larry was a three-sport all-state selection at Spokane's Gonzaga Preparatory High School. He then attended Gonzaga University where he was a standout baseball and basketball player. Upon graduation, he taught and coached in the Southern California school system before returning to Gonzaga University to serve as Head Baseball Coach. He was then promoted to Athletic Director, becoming the youngest Athletic Director in school history. Larry then took the Owner/President position with the Spokane Indians. Larry is survived by his children, Juli Koentopp, Kevin and Rita Koentopp (daughter-in-law) and Jake Koentopp (his very special Grandson), Kery Koentopp and Jack Koentopp (brother) and family. Larry was loved so very much and will be dearly missed by all. Services will be at 12:30 p.m. Tue., Jan. 29, at Holy Spirit Catholic Church, 5830 Mesa Park Drive, Las Vegas, Nevada, 89135.


To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Jan. 19, 2019.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
JAN
29
Memories & Condolences
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
11 entries
January 31, 2019
My condolences to all the Koentopp family in their loss of such a special person - Dorothy Worthington
January 28, 2019
So sorry for your loss. Sending love and prayers.
Karen Budig
January 28, 2019
Eternal Friendship Remembrance Bouquet - VASE INCLUDED
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
Rita Lund
January 26, 2019
So sorry about your loss. Just enjoy the memories of those great years together. May he Rest In Peace
Judy Exber
January 26, 2019
we are so very sorry to hear about the loss of your beloved father. My older brother , Rollie Byrne, was very fortunate to play baseball for Mr. Koentopp at Gonzaga University. Rollie loved your dad and respected him so much,and truly respected him as a coach and a wonderful human being.
Please know our thought and prayers go out to you at this most difficult time.
Sincerly,
Dan Byrne, Colleen Byrne and Terry Byrne of Spokane Washington
Terry Byrne-Oas
January 26, 2019
My sympathies to the Koentopp family. Mr. Koentopp took professional sports to another level in 1983 when he introduced the Las Vegas Stars AAA team, an affiliate of the San Diego Padres.

As a longtime baseball fan, I was privileged to work with him and Don Logan on the Stars' advertising campaigns in 1983-84.

God Bless you, Larry, as you rejoice with the heavenly hosts.
Larry White
January 21, 2019
Psalm 90:10 says that the days of our years are 70 years, And if because of special mightiness they are 80 years.
May the memories of the wonderful times you shared together bring a smile and joy in your heart.
January 21, 2019
We were deeply saddened to hear of Larry's passing. He was a remarkable man. We will miss speaking and working with him.We are sending healing prayers and our deepest sympathy.
Roz and Gerald Cohn
January 21, 2019
My sincere condolences to the family and friends. MAY the God of all consolation give you comfort hope and peace during this time of sorrow. Jeremiah 29:11,12
A S
January 19, 2019
oh juli...so very sorry to see this...praying for your family during this sad time
xo tc
terri chapman
January 19, 2019
My sincerest condolences to all of Larry's family. He was a great friend and allowed me many opportunities. From being a photographer for the ballclub, to teaching me golf. As poorly as I played he always had patience. Charma and I had the pleasure of staying with Larry in California and he was always the consummate host. When I retired, and we have since moved to Alabama, golf is foremost in our daily activities. Thanks Larry
Ron & Charma Weinstein
Ron Weinstein
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences