BESSIE BRAGGS
1944 - 2019
Share
Share BESSIE's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
BESSIE BRAGGS Bessie Ann (nee Malone) Braggs, 74, of Las Vegas, passed away April 11, 2019 after having suffered a stroke. Bessie worked for the Economic Opportunity Board before coming to work for the Community Food Bank where she became the Executive Director and served for over 20 years. Bessie has always been community-focused. She was among the founders of the historic West Side D Street Festival and she twice served as the Grand Marshall of the Martin Luther King Day parade. She participated in countless fundraisers and community events. Viewing will be from 4-8 p.m. Thursday, April 18 at Palm Mortuary, 1325 N. Main St., Las Vegas, NV 89101. Funeral services will be at 11 a.m. Friday, April 19 at New Jerusalem Worship Center, 1818 N. Martin Luther King Blvd., Las Vegas, NV 89106.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Apr. 16, 2019.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
APR
18
APR
19
Funeral service
11:00 AM
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
10 entries
April 24, 2019
My sincere condolences to the family.
May you find comfort and peace knowing God promises that soon we will see our loved ones again.
John 6:40
April 19, 2019
Annie Elliott
April 19, 2019
MY DEEPEST CONDOLENCES TO HOLE FAMILY....REST IN PARADISE MRS.BESSIE
April 18, 2019
Deepest sympathy to the family of Bessie Braggs, a former schoolmate of mine. She was a woman who reached out to others, trying to make a difference in their lives. She will be missed. May God comfort you as you grieve for your love one.

Shirley Edmond and family.
April 18, 2019
Sleep in Peace Wreath
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
Teri Kurth
April 17, 2019
I want to send my deepest sympathy to Ms. Braggs
family. I met her as a young teen when she came to work for SNETP aka CETA (City of LV) as my Aunt Brenda Davis worked with her there. I was hired as a summer youth in the Owens Office where Ms Braggs worked. She at that time wore her natural hair in a barber cut afro. Other than my Aunt she was one of the first black women that to me had power and regularly exercised it when need whether it client, co-worker or authoritative. I admired her alot and would run errands, file whatever she'd have me and when I began college I was able to remain a part
time student employee. She was truly the definition of Black Girl Magic even before it became a hashtag.
Donnette Harding
April 17, 2019
Your family has my deepest sympathy. It is always hard to lose a loved one. Our Heavenly Father is very aware and understands the pain you feel. He will give you comfort during this difficult time. Psalms 86:6,7
Ginny
April 16, 2019
My condolences to the Family
Lynn Fleming Jackson
April 16, 2019
My condolences for the loss of your loved one. May you find comfort and peace in what is said at John 4:28,29. It says that one day we will be reunited with our loved ones again.
April 16, 2019
Praying for the family. May God continue to wrap His loving arms around the family.
Love,
Cherie "Hooper " Smith
Cherie Smith
INVITE OTHERS TO ADD MEMORIES
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences