BRIAN KITT
Share
Share BRIAN's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
BRIAN KITT Brian Lee Kitt passed away March 27, 2019, in Las Vegas. He was born September 7, 1964, in Emporia, KS, to Sidney Frederick and Julia Ann (Smith) Kitt. Brian graduated from Hartford High School in 1982. He then went on to serve our country in the U.S. Navy from 1983-1989, when he was honorably discharged. Brian attended Emporia State University from 1989-1992, and graduated from Kansas State University with an Electrical Engineering degree in 1996. He worked at Tinker Air Force Base from 1996-1998, and from there went to work for the Bureau of Reclamation until his death. Brian's most recent job title was Lead Hydrologic Data Analyst, Boulder Canyon Operations Office, Bureau of Reclamation for Hoover Dam. He was a proud member of Toastmasters (Bolder Voices). Brian is survived by his wife, Kathleen Kitt; his mother, Julia Wilmore; and siblings, Kristina Grayson and Jeff Kitt. He was also a proud uncle to: Clara, Connor, Corbin, and Caraline Grayson, and John, Elliot, and Bowie Adamczyk. There will be an informal gathering from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Thu., April 11, at Hemenway Park in Boulder City. There will also be a gathering at the VFW in Emporia, date to be determined soon. In lieu of flowers, please make a donation to a charity of your choice in Brian's name. Charity was important to him.


To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Apr. 7, 2019.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
APR
11
Memorial Gathering
11:00 - 01:00 PM
Hemenway Park
MAKE A DONATION
Please consider a donation, as requested by the family.
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
12 entries
April 18, 2019
Brain:
A good person, mentor and friend. You returned home to soon my frined. Rest well. God be with you.
Peter Harbauer
April 18, 2019
Celebrating Your Service
This is a poem that has helped me deal with very close losses in my life. I had read it at the celebration of life for Brian but wanted to share it with you all as well.

Do not stand at my grave and weep;
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I live each day through nature's gifts;
I am the snow that falls and drifts,
I am the light breeze that blows,
I am the fresh green grass that grows.
I am the soft star light at night,
I am the silent birds in flight,
I am the song all children sing.
I am all good our Dear Lord brings.
Do not stand at my grave and cry;
I am not there I did not die.

God be with you Brian...you are loved and missed.
Peter Harbauer
April 12, 2019
We made it to the top together
It was the Railroad building where I first met Brian at the Bureau of Reclamation.
I talked with him for short periods of time.
I had come to realize that I would work with him very closely just a few years later in the Green building just a cubicle away.
He was a great coworker.
And a great team leader.
But most importantly, he was a great friend.
Brian and I began to compete in the Toastmasters contests.
He competed in the Humourous Speech contest.
And I competed in the International Speech contest.
We practiced together, giving each other feedback and pointers on how to improve.
It was Brian who helped me realize that my bowling story was really about the relationship I had with my dad.
He had a knack for seeing the message within.
I don't think I could have gone as far as I did in the competition without his support and his compassion.
It didn't stop there.
He was a great friend who was not only willing to help, but wanting to help.
There are so many times where he showed his caring personality.
In work projects, in applying and even competing for the same job, and finally when it came time for me to decide to move to Hawaii.
He helped me through this very personal time in my life.
Without him, it would have been a struggle.
He was one who could lift you up, no matter the struggle.
He touched the lives of many with his compassionate heart.
I remember how he talked of his wife Kathy.
I could tell that he loved her and was passionate about taking care of her.
I will always remember him and all the good times and deep conversations that we shared.
I will continue to admire him with utmost respect for his mentorship qualities.
I will remember Brian while he is just on the other side of the rainbow.
May it be there that your ear hair never has to grow.
You are loved by many.
Rest well my friend.
Kyle Cavalier
April 11, 2019
Brian Kitt was a friend and had a good heart. He worked hard to do the right thing, and strove to help others learn and grow . I enjoyed Brian's sense of humor. I will miss Brian. My condolences to his family, friends, fellow toastmasters. Greg Bjorgo
Greg Bjorgo
April 10, 2019
My deepest condolences for the loss of your loved one. May God give you comfort and strength during this difficult time. Psalm 86: 6,7
Marie
April 10, 2019
I will miss Brian's quick humor and smile. He was a vital member of Boulder Voices Toastmasters Club. In 2016, not only did he compete in the Tall Tales Contests - ultimately winning 2nd place for District 33 - but he also supported his friend and fellow club member Kyle Cavalier on his International Speech journey. Brian and Kyle visited my club and charmed and delighted us. Most recently, Brian invited me to Boulder Voices. He was incredibly thoughtful and kind. He made sure I knew where to park and met me at the door. It was obvious how much he cared about his fellow members and that they looked to him for guidance and inspiration.
Brian, you will be missed. Your warmth, wisdom and wit will always make me smile!
Sherrie Parker
April 9, 2019
A great co-worker and friend, who made the world a better place. I first met Brian in 2000 at work as we both struggled to fix some ancient wiring at Mead Substation. We ended up quickly helping each other out and worked on all sorts of projects together after that. On every project, he was always smart, skilled, and had a great attitude. He cared about those around him and went the extra mile to help folks out. Rest in Peace.
Seth
April 8, 2019
You left this world too soon, and us left behind mill miss you more than you would have ever realized. Forever 55.
Annette
Friend
April 7, 2019
Rest in Peace hon.
Jody Rieder
April 7, 2019
I remember him as a sweet little boy following his cousins around, trying to keep up.

Rest In Peace, sweet Brian.

Elaine Pool Wilson
April 7, 2019
We will all miss you
Brian was the best man at mine and my husbands wedding in Reno February 10, 1985. He and my husband were in the Navy together. We even held the the wedding up a day because he got snowed out and he was the only other person there. He even walked me down the isle.
Jody Rieder
April 7, 2019
Brian was the most sincere and thoughtful person. He had a quick wit and kind heart. I could always count on him to brighten my day, and would often take the long way to my desk to see him. His devotion to his family was evident in how he spoke of them. We are richer for knowing him. My heart breaks for those who held him most dear. May fond memories help heal your heart. ~ Katherine Zander, friend and co-worker
Katherine Zander
INVITE OTHERS TO ADD MEMORIES
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences