DORIS FEMENELLA
{ "" }
Share
Share DORIS's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
DORIS FEMENELLA Doris M. Jones Femenella, 86, beloved wife of "Dr." Bob, passed away Dec. 11, 2012. Doris was born in Brooklyn, N.Y., Dec. 3, 1926. Doris was a strong, intelligent woman who dedicated her life as an educator, civil rights leader and community activist. After many years as a school administrator in Westbury, New York, Doris retired to Las Vegas in 1982 to continue as an activist in human rights, education, politics and cultural arts. Doris was appointed to the Nevada State Board of Education, Arts Council, Welfare Board, Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, and more. She founded the Blue Ribbon Commission on Educational Excellence and Youth Opportunity and Barbara Jordan Women's Democratic Caucus. She received awards as an Outstanding Educator, Humanitarian, Henderson Citizen of the Year, Black Civic Leader, Women's Role Model and others. Senator Harry Reid recognized her dedication as an avid democrat. Other volunteerism included the Henderson Youth Commission, Boys and Girls Club, Henderson Public Libraries, Cultural Arts Planning Task Force, Advisory Board to Henderson Police and St. Rose Dominican Hospitals, League of Women Voters, Clark County Women's Democratic Club and United Way. Doris's favorite motto was, "Progress is my most important product." Doris is survived by her love, for 45 years, husband, Bob; and their blended family, RuthAnn, Renee, Rachelle, Lauren, Theo, Selene, Robbie and Vincenzo. She will be missed by family relations, brother, John; sister, Ruth; and Senora, Wayman, Mathew, Jayson, Dia, Nia and Arbre. Doris's legacy lives on. A celebration of her life will be 2-4 p.m., Dec. 22, at Dragonridge Country Club, MacDonalds Highlands. Donations may be made to Southern Poverty Law Center, a non-profit civil rights organization.




To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal from Dec. 13 to Dec. 15, 2012.
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Her Loving Family - Grand & Great Children: Lauren, Robert, Theo, Selene, & Vincenzo
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
31 entries
February 14, 2013
My fondest memories of Doris are of the times I spent in her office when she was assistant principal at Westbury High School, and I was a beginning TEACHER who was sometimes challenged by students who wanted to test my authority. Doris mentored me with her incredible gift of understanding both her young charges and her novice educators. Doris showed me how to carry myself with dignity and strength to be the best role model I could possibly be with my students. How proud she would have been of me later in life becoming an assistant principal myself in a neighboring high school and completing my career after 35 years in education as an assistant superintendent. Her gifts and her legacy live on in those who loved her and who strove to follow in those mighty special footsteps. I will never, ever forget her beauty, grace, integrity, strength, and style. Rest in peace, Doris, and thank you.
Dr. Susan Fishbein
February 10, 2013
Doris Webber was my third grade teacher. I can only imagine how great the loss to her family and friends; as those of us who knew her as impressionable and young have been so marked by her love, understanding and guidance. I will always love and respect her for planting the seeds of self-esteem and self-worth in me all those years ago; and have thought of her often in the many decades since. She was a truly remarkable woman!! My deepest condolences to all of you and to all of us! Rest in peace Mrs. Webber...your light shines on in the hearts of all you touched, forever.
Ellen K. Tannen
February 6, 2013
Doris Webber was my second grade teacher at Powell's Lane School in Westbury NY almost 60 years ago. I can still remember the kindness, caring, and dedication she demonstrated as she helped us to develop our self-respect and respect for others. I fondly recall her regular fingernail checks as she called us up to her desk to make sure we were taking care of ourselves! And I still get compliments on my cursive writing thanks to her! As a teacher myself, she remains a strong role model for me. I am so gratified to see that Mrs. Webber spent her entire life continuing the wonderful work that I was lucky enough to experience that long ago. Rest in peace, truly, as you have done more than your part to make the world a better place.
Joe Quinn
January 2, 2013
Bob, We are so sad about the passing of your beloved wife. Doris was such an incredible woman! She was so inspiring and filled with such joy and laughter. May your wonderful memories give you strength through this difficult time.

God Bless You!
Frank and Marsha Irvin
Frank and Marsha Irvin
December 22, 2012
You were a GREAT neighbor!!! We will miss you Doris. May you Rest in Peace.
Lori & Randy Nordlund
December 22, 2012
A wonderful teacher -- kind, warm, intelligent, inspiring, and dignified. She made a lasting impression on this Westbury student. Truly a special person in so many of our young lives.
Evelyn Weil Browne, class of '74 WHS
December 22, 2012
4th grade was over 50 years ago for me, but my memories and thoughts of Mrs. Webber ring clear as a bell. She was the best possible role model a student could have. There is no doubt this world is a much better place for her having lived in it so beautifully. Rest in peace.
Martha Rothstein
December 21, 2012
Mrs. Webber was my 4th grade teacher at Powell's Lane School. She was the best teacher I had in all my years of schooling. As Asst. Principal at Westbury High I remember her for her stern ways but she was the most caring, charismatic and classy woman a district could have. Love, fond thoughts and prayers to the entire family. Nancy Cohen
Nancy Cohen
December 21, 2012
I was deeply saddened to learn of her passing. She was a truly splendid woman with character, charm and beauty throughout. A remarkable presence at Westbury. Sweet, warm and committed to her profession. Those who knew her at Powells Lane and Westbury High never forgot her. We are all better people because of her. My hearfelt sympathies to Bob and the entire family.
Ken Ferber
December 21, 2012
a fabulous woman and a great role model...westbury high school '74, melanie shore levin
December 20, 2012
Doris Femenella (at that time Doris Webber) was the glue that held the young ladies at Westbury HS together. She knew us...she felt us...and her motivation was to make us better and she did. Our prayers go out to her husband and family. Please know that because of her, we became teachers, administrators, program directors, entrepreneurs, great wives and mothers and grandmothers, and most of all, cultured women that have compassion for other women. Thank you, Doris, for all the times you called my dad and mom and put me on the spot. You made it possible for me to survive ANYTHING!!!! Love always...
Shereene Hill-Veal
December 20, 2012
Doris was one of the most influential people in my life. She helped me believe in ME, and I am thankful for that every day. I am so grateful for her guidance and think of her often with love and admiration.
Nancy Beardsley
December 20, 2012
What an incredible lady! Henderson is a better place because of her efforts.
Ann Barron
December 20, 2012
My condolences to the entire family. I am a graduate of Westbury High School class of 1974. As a student I "unwilling" spent hours with Doris!!! As an adult, I am grateful for that time. She was a role model for every young girl. She was one of the most influential people in my life. Thank you for all your guidance, love and devotion. You touched many over the years. R.I.P.
Donna Hoffer
December 20, 2012
Doris Webber's Fifth Grade Class in 1967
Doris was my fifth grade teacher and I loved her. She was a tremendous role model, beautiful outside and in. I will always think of her fondly, may she rest in peace. My condolences to her family.
December 18, 2012
warm, tough, fair, always concerned, impeccable role model...the epitome of what an educator should be...
December 17, 2012
Doris Femenella (Mrs. Webber) had a reputation as a stellar teacher at Powell's Lane. At the end of 4th grade, the entire class begged to have Doris Femenella (Mrs. Webber) for 5th grade! For me, she was the epitome of a professional black woman.It was a privilege and an honor to have Mrs. Webber as my 5th grade teacher and as a role model at Westbury High! May your hearts soon be filled with wonderful memories of joyful times together as you celebrate a life well lived.
Michele Hunter
December 17, 2012
As the days and weeks pass, and as you return to life's routine, may you continue to feel comforted by the love and support of family and friends.
Norman Leon Sutton
December 17, 2012
My sincerest condolences to the family of
Dr. Doris Webber Fememella. I was a former student of WHS Class of 1972. What a Blessing she was, she will be greatly missed. R.I.P. God Bless!
Lorraine Burnett
December 17, 2012
I have the fondest memories of Ms. Webber. Her high standards and expectations served as a motivation to us all. She was loved by generations of students and leaves us with a legacy of excellence.
Ed Annunziato
December 17, 2012
I am sorry to hear about Doris. It brings pause to my day and recollections of cherished conversations over the years. May she rest in peace. Bob...my condolences to you and your family. Warm regards.
Shelley Cranley
December 17, 2012
Janice Ferebee, MSW*Former WHS Student
God's Peace & Comfort to the Family. I am a former Westbury High School student/Class of '73 who loved and respected Mrs. Femenella (then Mrs. Webber). She was well loved (and feared) by students, parents and the community. The heavens are a little brighter now that she is among the stars.
Janice Ferebee
December 17, 2012
I have so many fond memories of Doris from her days in Westbury, NY. She was an excellent administrator, a mentor to many, and just plain fun to be around. I know she will be missed. I send my heartfelt condolences to the family.
Cindy Paterno
December 16, 2012
Doris was a mentor to me and I valued her advice and friendship. She graced us on earth and will in heaven. Our sympathy to Bob and their family. Chris
December 16, 2012
Loving thoughts and prayers - angels surround her now. We will all miss her presence in our lives but her legacy lives on everywhere in everything she touched and the good she did for so many. We love you Mom/Grandma Doris. Renee, Ted, Theo, Selene
December 14, 2012
Bob - I was so sorry to hear about Doris. What a meaningful life she led. Hope you are hanging in there and remembering the good times. Judy Skomars
December 14, 2012
Doris will be sorely missed. A wonderful example for all of us to follow. My condolences to Bob and the rest of the family.
Mayor Andy Hafen
Andy Hafen
December 14, 2012
Doris was a wonderful neighbor for several years. She will be missed.
Mary Beth Scow
December 14, 2012
Doris was a wonderful lady; it is an honor to have known her.
Bob Campbell
December 14, 2012
Doris was a special friend who "walked her talk." She never stood on the side lines, but joined the fight for social justice. My best to Bob Femenella, a special friend as well.
Reynaldo Martinez
December 13, 2012
We are all saddened at Doris' passing and want to extend our condolences to Bob and the Femenella Family. Doris was a Past President of Women's Democratic Club of Clark County from 1992-1993. We will miss her wonderful smile.
Judy Klein
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences