FRANK DAVENPORT
1937 - 2019
Share
Share FRANK's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
FRANK DAVENPORT Frank George Davenport, 81, of Las Vegas, passed away February 1, 2019. He was born July 3, 1937, in Aurora, IL, where he lived and attended grade and high schools. He graduated from Benedictine University (then known as St. Procopius College) in 1959 with a B.A. Degree in Social Service. He attended Officer Candidate School, Newport, RI, leading to three years active duty as a U.S. Naval Officer and 17 years in the U.S. Naval Reserve attaining the rank of Commander. During his three years of active duty, he spent approximately 27-36 months at sea. He attended Air Control School, Brunswick, GA, Naval Air Station, and was Air Control Officer aboard the USS Canberra CAG-2, from early 1960 to early 1961 while the Canberra was employed in an Around the World Cruise. He had the opportunity to work flight operations with various naval aircraft carriers and always felt complete and utter admiration for the "jet jockeys" during all aspects of carrier operations. One of his greatest and enduring "thrills" was serving as LSO (Landing Signal Officer) on the carrier during landing operations as the fighter pilots returned from their mission. Following military service, he worked in capacity of Investigator and Criminal Investigator with the U.S. Civil Service Commission, U.S. Atomic Energy Commission and U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Inspector General. Following retirement in 1987, he continued his passion for adventure and mountain trekking in the Himalayan, Andes, and Karakorum mountain ranges as well as peaks Kilimanjaro in Africa, Aconcagua in South America, and K2 Base Camp, Pakistan. As an amateur photographer, he recorded his trips with over 20,000 slides and frequently hosted slide presentations for local Sierra Club and others. He is survived by his wife, Somjit; daughters, Terese and Kimberly; son, Keith; grandchildren, Casey, Misti, Mandaline, Daniel and Matthew; and great-grandchildren, Jackson and Gracie. He looks forward to reuniting with his son, Danny, who preceded him in death October 7, 1974. A Celebration of Life will be at 1 p.m. Sat., Mar. 16, at Palm Southwest Mortuary, 7979 W Warm Springs Rd., Las Vegas, NV 89113.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Feb. 10, 2019.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
MAR
16
Celebration of Life
01:00 PM
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
13 entries
February 21, 2019
Frank and I were government employees who came to know each other through my offices parties and Franks nose for food! Whenever the office was celebrating anything, Frank was always there and it seemed he sniffed his way to the celebrations, which was fine. Besides enjoying food, and our using 2-for-1 coupons to try out different offerings, Frank was very athletic and loved hiking. The one hiking trip I went on with him ended up with his using the firemans carry on me because I could go no further and he would not leave me by myself on the mountain (hill, actually)! Frank was the officer and gentleman in my life! I was sorry to hear of his passing but knew his last couple of years were great for him because Sanjit had come into his life! I know he is in a better place now, free of pain, and probably organizing heavens version of The Sierra Club that he so enjoyed.
JoAnna Jones
Friend
February 12, 2019
Dear Frank,
You will be so missed. I really enjoyed the computer "lessons" as a way to get a chance to see the photos and hear about your adventures, even if I did the hard part..... that's one more last laugh we can now share.
My thoughts are with your family.
Your friend,
Judy
judy
February 12, 2019
Dear Frank,
My thoughts are with his children and their families.
I'll miss the computer "lessons" and seeing all the recent photos you took that I would help you download. We always had such fun and laughs while you told me all about your adventure. Then I would share mine. I'll miss those happy times.
A lovely man who will always be remembered by your friend,
Judy
February 11, 2019
Kim Phillips
February 11, 2019
Kim Phillips
February 11, 2019
Kim Phillips
February 11, 2019
Kim Phillips
February 11, 2019
Kim Phillips
February 11, 2019
Kim Phillips
February 11, 2019
My deepest condolences to the family and friends of Frank. When someone you love becomes a memory, the memory becomes a treasure that fills your heart with love and fills you with joy. May you find comfort in Jesus promise of the hope of everlasting life at John 6:40.
VG
February 11, 2019
My thoughts and prayers go out to the Davenport family.
Tony Allotta
February 10, 2019
During this time of great sorrow and pain, know that you are not alone. May God give your family strength and comfort to help you endure this loss. As you remember your beloved one, may our Father, the God of peace, give you comfort and peace in every way today, tomorrow and always. Please accept my sincere condolences. 2 Thessalonians 3:16
Lisa G
February 9, 2019
Lived life to the fullest
Kim Phillips
INVITE OTHERS TO ADD MEMORIES
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences