James Welborn
{ "" }
Share
Share James's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
JAMES WELBORN James Welborn, 37, a comic book shop owner, of Somerville, Mass., passed away May 23, 2011. He was born July 4, 1973, in Las Vegas, raised in Henderson, and was a 27-year resident of Nevada. He graduated from Basic H.S. with a distinguished scholar diploma and was awarded the Millennium Scholarship to attend the University of Nevada at Reno. He went on to work for the Las Vegas SUN and became one of the very first employees for Vegas.com, where he wrote their first content management system. In 1999, James was recruited to Boston to work for Akamai as a systems engineer. In 2003, James married his wife, Karrie, and had his son, Max, in 2004. James had a life-long love for comic books. In a dream come true, he founded Hub Comics, "the comics shop for NPR listeners" near his home in Somerville. But James' greatest pride and joy was his son, Maximus, who is just like his father: big, tough, lovable and always laughing. Max brought James more joy than anything on Earth. James was preceded in death by his parents, Jim Welborn and Sharon Welborn-Haproff. James is survived by his sons, Max; wife, Karrie; stepfather, William Haproff; brother, Matthew Welborn and sister, Dara Welborn of Henderson; sisters, Donna Welborn, Toni Hawkins and Carol Faust of Missouri; and many beloved nieces and nephews. There will be a celebration in honor of James 4-7 p.m. Sunday, June 12, at Road Runner Saloon in Henderson (Eastern at Pebble). The family asks that donations be made to a college fund for his son Max. Make checks payable to the Max Welborn Trust and sent to: National Financial Services, Attn.: Deliveries, FBO: Max Welborn Trust, 100 Crosby Parkway, KC1J Invest, Covington, KY 41015-4325, Acct. No. WB1-023841.


To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal from May 28 to Jun. 4, 2011.
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Phocks
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
16 entries
July 4, 2014
N Jones
May 21, 2014
University of Nevada Sagebrush staffers
James was a robust, generous friend with a giving nature and engaging sense of humor. His secret identity was super hero, in the most real-life sense. When I wasn't up for being daring and brave, James dared and braved for me, and was patient while I found my courage. He stood with mountain height but made those near him feel taller and more capable for his presence. This quality and his dogged work ethic made him the sort of strong leader who inspired confidence, cohesion, and made you really excited to work really, really hard, because working with James always meant making something special and new. He loved Art and art, Comics and comics, Truth and truth. He's the sort of person whose character stays with you, whose voice can be called up in your mind like you heard him just yesterday, and you know you're better for just having met him. I'd swap all the inspiration for the man himself. I wish I could give his son every memory and moment I had with his dad. And I wish wishing mattered.
Jody Lindke
August 17, 2011
James,
You were such a special person. Missing you always...
Melissa S
July 4, 2011
A Ray
June 23, 2011
Phudd & Phocks (circa 1994)
You left us far too soon, Phudd. You brought a little light into the lives of everyone who knew you and I was honored to consider you one of my best friends for nearly 20 years. Rest in peace, old friend. You will never be forgotten.
Eric Fox
June 12, 2011
My condolences to the family and particularly Max. Such a great, great loss. James was just about the kindest person you'd ever meet. I will miss him dearly and always think of him with a great, big smile.
Sarah Baird
June 11, 2011
So sad to hear about James. The world lost one of the best people
i ever knew
Melissa Friberg
June 10, 2011
Stacy Rogers-Williams
June 10, 2011
My deepest condolences on the loss of James. I will never stop praying for Max. Even though James and I only stayed in touch over Facebook - his passing is greatly impactful and very sad for me. I had known him since the 6th grade. God Bless you all.
Tina LaLonde-Sigman
June 7, 2011
RIP Big Guy!
Bob Leeman
June 1, 2011
Dara,
God Bless you in your time of loss! May you be comforted! Al Lane & Family
June 1, 2011
May God be with your family and friends.
Alison (Sant) Abrams
May 31, 2011
A life gone too soon, James you will be sadly missed.
Denise Tedesco
May 31, 2011
Missing you James, but Always remembering your spirit.... God Speed!!!
Chris W
May 31, 2011
May Almighty God comfort your family.
N Guy
May 28, 2011
In loving memory of a wonderful person. We will love you and miss you always.
KATHIE MORTENSEN
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences