JERRY KAUFMAN
1935 - 2015
{ "" }
Share
Share JERRY's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
JERRY KAUFMAN Jerry Jack Kaufman, 79, of Las Vegas, passed away peacefully Sunday, Aug. 2, 2015. Born in Cleveland, Sept. 3, 1935, and raised in Los Angeles, he had a long career in the legal field as an attorney and a judge in California, Utah, and Nevada. A graduate of the California Western School of Law in San Diego with a Juris Doctorate, he also held a bachelor's degree in engineering from the University of Arizona, and a master's degree in business from Westminster College in Salt Lake City. He later was appointed as an adjunct professor in business and served on the advisory board for the business school. He came to Las Vegas in 1965 as government lawyer at the Nevada Test Site. He later formed a law firm with former Speaker of the Nevada State Assembly and State Senator Melvin D. Close and Rep. James H. Bilbray, who also was a state senator and regent for the University of Nevada State System. Their firm later merged with another law group that included former Nevada lieutenant governor, judge and hotel entrepreneur Herbert Jones (who was also a former state senator and president of the state's bar association.) Known as Jones, Jones, Close, Bilbray and Kaufman, the firm grew and merged into the Jones-Vargas organization. Jerry served in dozens of positions as an attorney and judge, including as an alternate municipal judge, Nevada Supreme Court settlement judge, District Court Judge Pro Tempore and held additional leadership positions with the March of Dimes and the Easter Seal Society, the Boys Scouts of America and the American National Red Cross. He was also president of B'nai B'rith and served in the U.S. Air Force Reserves. As close to his heart as the law was, Jerry also loved playing baseball including as a team member in high school and at the University of Southern California, and later with top major league professionals. He enjoyed skiing, baseball and tennis. Jerry especially loved travelling worldwide. Some of the places Jerry has visited are Asia, Europe, and South America. While he enjoyed practicing law and athleticism, he deeply enjoyed his family, especially his children and grandchild. He taught law worldwide and was sought after for legal advice by many political, business leaders and officials. He was dedicated to Las Vegas and was a key individual in the history of the city from the mid-60's on. He was preceded in death by his parents, Saul and Ida Kaufman; his sister, Thelma Kostbar (David Kostbar); and sister, Jean Gelman (Sidney Gelman). He is survived by his loving fiancee, Li Yun Cao (Lindsay); daughter, Sandi Raines (Dave Raines); son, Keith Kaufman (Hollie Kaufman); and grandson, Matthew Raines. His final resting place will be at Beth Olam in Los Angeles. Celebration of his life will be at 1 p.m. Friday, Aug. 7, at Spanish Trail Country Club, Las Vegas. In lieu of flowers, please make donations to the March of Dimes.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Aug. 5, 2015.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
AUG
7
Celebration of Life
01:00 PM
Spanish Trail Country Club
Memories & Condolences
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
23 entries
July 30, 2020
WITH FOND MEMORIES OF BEING A 1ST COUSIN TO JERRY, I REMEMBER HIM VERY WELL.
HARLEY KAUFMAN
Family
June 5, 2017
What a great friend. You will be missed. You always went above and beyond to help me and I am truly grateful. Jerry I will miss our times together. Till we meet again in heaven.
HUGS
Carol Sheehan
flingclipper00@aol.com
310-922-5378 Cell
Carol Sheehan
October 24, 2015
Jerry, you'll be greatly missed. You were a delight to anyone around you.I'll miss the stories about you & Anthony Quinn partying, but I'm sure you'll be the life of the party in Heaven too. Farewell, my friend.
Cliff Robison
August 19, 2015
Jerry, an honor to be a friend. We had some fun and you were a great mentor
Mike Marryat
August 10, 2015
Harley and I enjoyed being in your home. We both have wonderful memories of Jerry. Our deepest condolence to the whole family.. Harley and Carol
Carol Hansen
August 10, 2015
Dear Sandi and Keith, I have great memories of times with your dad and all of us in Vegas and Brian Head. Sending you, Dave, Matthew, Hollie and Lindsay my deepest condolences. Love you guys. xxxxoooo
Amy Lyden
August 7, 2015
I have a cabin across the street from Jerry and Lindsay in Old Town Mt Charleston. I met them a little over a year ago. I didn't receive a wedding invitation probably because as Jerry would have told you "he won't listen to any of my advice and I can't take him anywhere". Our neighbor, my oldest friend Bob Merranto told me Sunday morning that "your buddy passed away this morning". To me Jerry reached the highest level possible. During the past couple months he became my best friend. I didn't see this coming. Ron Bordigioni
ronald bordigioni
August 6, 2015
Our Settlement Judge Program has lost an esteemed member. I am so sorry
Bill Turner
August 6, 2015
Mikey and I are heartsick to hear of the passing of our dear friend. Our deepest condolences to Keith, Sandi, Matthew, & the entire family. We were so looking forward to his wedding next month to his beloved, Lindsey.
Jim Bilbray
August 6, 2015
Sandi and Keith
My heart goes out to you both. I share the sadness that you're both going through right now. I've really missed your dad. I wish I could have been closer in these last few years, but this wasn't my choice. I loved him and have so many fond memories. If you need a shoulder or just want to talk I am always here for you. Now is the time to remember the good times with him, let this help you through this difficult road ahead. You're both in my thoughts and prayers. I love you.

Renee (Gelman) Lund-Feisthamel
naysie19@yahoo.com
Renee Lund-Feisthamel
August 6, 2015
Sandi, Keith and family,
My deepest sympathy for the loss of your father.
I knew you both when you were small ( I am friends with Renee ) and we spent alot of time with you snd your family. So many precious memories! Prayers are with you at this very difficult time.
Lynn Tzelalis (Fowler)
August 6, 2015
My thoughts and prayers are with Jerry's family. My husband Joel Adler was a friend for many years. Good Bless you.
Annette Adler
August 6, 2015
We are so very sorry to hear of Jerry's passing. What a delightful gentleman he was....he will be greatly missed. Sincere condolences to his fiancée and his family. Hilary Green and Jan Ahern
August 5, 2015
Jerry was a wonderful man. He was always ready with sound counsel, a warm smile and unending support. He loved life and he added greatly to my life. I will miss him very much.
Steve Smith
August 5, 2015
My condolences to Jerry;s family. he will be missed.

Elaine Galatz
August 5, 2015
I am so sorry to hear of Jerry's passing! To say Jerry was decent and honorable is an understatement. I was looking forward to attending his wedding in September when he turned 80 years. My heart goes out to his lovely fiancee, and he will be missed by many--including me.
Susan Johnson
August 5, 2015
Jerry was always kind to take me under his wing and share his life wisdom. We shared a special friendship that will be forever missed. My family and friends that loved Jerry send their heartfelt condolences to Jerry's family and loved ones. Our world is truly in shock over his passing.
Brent Turner
August 5, 2015
Jennifer Bryan
August 5, 2015
My condolences to the family. Jerry and I first met when we both worked at SIIS. He was a funny and caring man. JB
Jennifer Bryan
August 4, 2015
Jerry & I have been friends for almost 60 years.
He will be truely missed by all who knew & loved him.
Qur prayers and condolences to his family.
Hank Sobel
Hank Sobel
August 4, 2015
What a shock! I've known Jerry ever since he moved to L.A. from Cleveland in the late 1940's. He lived across the street from me and we were great friends. We had wonderful times together during our Jr. and Sr. high years. Jerry and Lindsay attended my 80th birthday party this past April and invited me to celebrate his 80th AND wedding to Lindsay. He was a great guy and I'll miss him greatly

My sincere condolences to Linsay and the family
Jerry Primack
Jerry Primack
August 4, 2015
Dear Jerry, you were such a joy to be around. You were always the light in the room that put a smile on everyone's face. You will be sorely missed my friend! But I know you're in heaven playing baseball with the angels. Now every time it thunders, I will think of you and know it is the crowd cheering another homerun.

Dear Lindsay, words can't express our sincere sorrow for your loss. We know that Jerry was your world and we were looking so forward to celebrating your life together at the wedding. Our hearts and prayers are with you during this very sad time. Like you, we loved Jerry and he is irreplaceable!

All our love,
Marilyn Jordan
California Western School of Law
August 4, 2015
I've known Jerry for many years, first meeting him when we worked together in the Legal Department of what was then SIIS. He was Chief of the Department. We kept in touch all these years later especially on his birthday. I always admired his love of life and what a sense of humor! I will truly miss Jerry. Bonnie Pond
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences