JUDITH C. PERRY
Share
Share JUDITH's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
JUDITH C PERRY Judith (Judi) Crawford Perry passed away on December 21st, 2019. Judi was a dear and beloved mother, daughter, wife, grandmother, cousin, colleague, and friend to so many. She was full of life and energy and loved the company of her friends and family whom she held so dear, and who cherished her so much. Judi enjoyed world travel, fine dining with company, and holidays and special occasions with those she loved. She was very proud of and took great joy from her excellent career in executive containerboard sales, and she maintained deep friendships from her career as a top performer long after she retired. The depth of her caring was evident in everything she did, from wrapping the perfect gift, to writing a thoughtful note, to remembering special details of those she loved. She maintained many friendships with people she'd met all over the world and always remembered their birthdays and special occasions. She was a fierce bridge player and loved the challenge of a crossword puzzle. Judi was born May 16, 1940 to Marcella and Robert Crawford in Michigan City, Indiana, where she was raised. She graduated from Elston High School before attending Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana. She had a special group of friends "The Eastport Girls" with whom she was close from kindergarten to her final days, a testament to her ability to build and maintain strong friendships. Judi's cousins were core family for her, and were loved like sisters. After Indiana, she moved to Chicago where she began a long, successful career, primarily with Packaging Corporation of America, from which she retired in 1999. She loved the energy and pace of Chicago, and it was there she met the love of her life, Alan R. Perry. They married on April 24, 1976. Their life together was full of adventure, love, and friendship. Judi and Al retired to Las Vegas in 2001, and Judi moved to Pacific Grove, California in 2015 after Al passed away in 2014. She returned to Las Vegas in 2019. Judi is survived by her son, Bill Perry and his wife, Martha Groves Perry, and grandchildren, Dillon Perry and Bryn Perry; her daughter, Jill Heyna, granddaughter Christine Fulkerson; and great-grandson, Michael Fulkerson; and her dear cousins and friends. A private family and friends gathering will be held at a later date to celebrate the life of this truly good and caring person.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Jan. 5, 2020.
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
27 entries
June 4, 2020
Judy was a good friend I met her through business. She was A wonderful woman I'm going to miss her.
Mark Haase
Friend
May 18, 2020
Janie Frebe
Friend
May 17, 2020
Have so many wonderful memories of my friendship with Judi. Remember our meeting at a wine tasting at the Bellagio Art Gallery shortly after her husband passed. Judi loved life and was always trying new and different things. When she moved to California, and would venture back to Las Vegas, she always made time to meet for dinner, lunch or a drink. Will miss her.
stephen murray
Friend
May 11, 2020
As I was getting ready to send Judi her birthday card I remembered that she had moved back to Las Vegas and I forgot to update her information in my phone. I googled her name to see if I could find her new address and was shocked and saddened to see Judi's obituary. Every year for the past 30 years we would send each other a birthday card. My birthday was May 14th and hers the 16th. Judi and I met at my first job at Packaging Corporation of America after graduating high school. I was only 18 and Judi took me under her wing and taught me everything from the correct way to write a letter, address the envelope, order food for an event and so much more. She was my mentor and so much more throughout the years. Judi was an amazing friend and I was totally blessed to have met her! Rest in peace my dear friend and know that you were loved by many. I will miss you dearly.
Elizabeth Koplon
Friend
April 7, 2020
Hi All:

I have contacted all in the comments below, thank you for your memories and thoughts. I think of her every day. The memorial that was to be held is of course postponed given COVID-19. It will be later in the year or next spring. I will post info here and reach out again directly to connect when this is scheduled.

Much love to you all, we all miss her so very much.
Bill Perry
April 5, 2020
Shelley and Peggy please email me
Judith Mandel
April 3, 2020
Judi and I met some 30 years ago when we worked at Howard Zuker Associates in The Hancock building in Chicago. We had an immediate connection and bonded over long lunches and woman to woman (mostly her giving me advice about the biz that she knew well) navigating the paper recycling sales business. Judi was a shining light and a dynamic and loyal friend. We got together outside of work as couples and her husband Al fixed me some mean manhattans, which we both enjoyed. (Judi and my husband loved their martinis.) I always remember Judi and Al telling the story of meeting in a popular Chicago bar (maybe Mother's) and then every year of their anniversary, they would recreate the moment they met. She and I had many laughter filled moments together. We stayed in touch after she and Al moved to Vegas through long letters in birthday cards and Christmas cards. My husband and I were all set to go visit her in Pacific Grove, combining it with a planned wedding event this past year when I suddenly discovered that she'd moved back to Vegas. It would have been a joyous reunion I know. I was so shocked and devastated to learn of her passing after I tried phoning her several times but grateful I'd saved her last birthday card she wrote to me in November , so full of joy and wonderful plans for travel and visiting friends and family on through New Year's and then entertaining guests on through the middle of this year. She embraced life and all her friends and her dear family, who she loved so much. I will miss you terribly, my dear friend, Judi Perry and our beautiful friendship. Love you forever and always. xoxo
Love, Pegxo
Peggy Kocian
April 3, 2020
Peggy Kocian
March 25, 2020
Someone please contact me!! I loved her so much! She was my other mother as was Al my other dad....I lived ne t door to them in Chicago....a lot of you know who I am...please contact me and tell me wha happened please!!! Im sick with grief!!!
Shelley Fryman
Family
March 24, 2020
One of the cousins please call me! She was my other mother and I've been trying to reach her!!! Judy Madel
Please contact me! Or Bill!!!
Shelley Fryman
February 11, 2020
Judi was a dear and trusted friend. We met at PCA, where our careers collided. She was selling containerboard and I was in credit management. We travelled together and formed a friendship that has lasted over 30 years. She was a pioneer in the male-dominated containerboard industry and she mentored and coached many young women at PCA. She was a role model for many of us and she set the standard for building and nurturing customer relationships. I have so many fond memories and wanted to share a few of Judi's favorite things: Lilies of the Valley; A good stiff drink, whisky please; Double cribbage; Shirred eggs; Antiques and Royalty. She and Al loved to travel and they were gracious and welcoming hosts. Judi treasured friendships and family. She was a tireless volunteer for all her local communities and a Black Jack champion. She brought out the best in others and lived life to the fullest.
Here's to Happy Hour at the Sand Bar in Pacific Grove and a drive through Red Rock in Vegas You will be remembered. You will be missed and your address book will never be rivaled. You touched so many with your kindness and caring, a true blue friend.
Mary Givler-Savage
February 9, 2020
Heading in to the Sand Bar for Happy Hour, March 2019
Mary Savage
February 9, 2020
Mary and Arthur Savage visiting Pacific Grove, March 2019
Mary Savage
February 3, 2020
Judi enjoying a snack enroute back to Waupaca
Judy Mandel
February 3, 2020
Christmas as my apartment in Wilmette Judi and Lynn.
Judy Mandel
February 3, 2020
Trip to Bayfield Wisconsin for Lynnie's birthday.
Judy Mandel
January 30, 2020
I met Judi in 1974 at Consolidated Packaging Corp and we grew into dear friends over the years. Celebrating not only our birthdays, but the births of my children and grandchildren and all the milestones of life along the way. She truly lived life on her terms with a full, giving heart, always there with a listening ear and shoulder to lean on. I am blessed to have had her in my life and will miss you terribly friend of my heart. Love Always.
Rosy Angsten
January 17, 2020
Judi and Lana at Etas-Unis in Carmel on April 6, 2019
Lana Bryan
January 17, 2020
Bob and I met Judi when she moved to Pacific Grove, CA.We enjoyed many fun and foodie evenings with her: at her home as she cooked gourmet meals, at Dorothy's Cooking Club, and going to the Chart House for prime rib and good wine. She always spoke so fondly of Dillon and Bryn, of whom she was very proud.
We miss her.
Lana Bryan and Bob Whitsitt
Lana Bryan
January 12, 2020
I am so sorry to hear this!! I haven't heard from Judy so was concerned
I will miss her so much. She was a wonderful person. She & Al were our friends & neighbors in Las Vegas. We spent times laughing & visiting our favorite restaurant Roy's. My heart aches for all who loved her! RIP sweet
Lady❤ you will be missed!!
Janie Frebe
January 11, 2020
We loved these two wonderful people. They were friends & wonderful neighbors! I am missing Judy as we had planned a reunion after she was settled.
Janie Frebe
January 11, 2020
Janie & Frank Frebe
January 10, 2020
I loved Judi to pieces, She was one of a kind Loved by many. Her customers were more family than customers. She knew all the births, deaths, etc. for everyone she called a friend. They'll never be another Judi. I am so sorry for the passing of this very special person. See you on the other side Judi Save me a seat at your table.
Susan Martorano
January 10, 2020
So grateful to have been a co-worker, and friend. Now there is no one to call day before Kentucky Derby to discuss the entries, trainers and odds.
Ann Wienstroer
January 6, 2020
My deepest condolences to Judi's family and friends. Judi and I have been close friends since 1968 when we met through Judy Mandel in Chicago and retained our friendship even though I moved to Los Angeles 42 years ago. She was a wonderful person and an even better friend and I will miss her terribly. I'm still trying to process the fact that Judi is no longer physically here, but I will never forget you, Judi. I'll love and miss you forever.
Bobbie Fuss
January 5, 2020
My condolences to the family . May you find comfort in your treasured memories and Gods promise to return our loved ones who passed away in death . 1st Thessalonians 4 : 13 & 14 .
January 4, 2020
Judi and me in Bayfield Wisconsin
I met Judi in 1964 working at Marsh & McLennan in Chicago and she and Lynn and I became friends. We shared the love of Cooking and traveling. Who can forget the many Christmases we each took turn hosting. The birthdays celebrated at fine Chicago restaurants. We even decided to celebrate our 60th birthdays in grand style. Judi in Paris France, mine in Santa Fe New Mexico and Lynn's in Bayfield Wisconsin. So sad to have you taken from us too soon. Say Hi to Julia Child for us Judi and tell her thanks for helping make us great gourmets, gourmands and friends. We will miss you. So Ta ta for now my friend. My condolences to her family and her friends.
Love,
Little Judy
Judy Mandel
INVITE OTHERS TO ADD MEMORIES
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences