JUDGE LAUREL BABERO
Share
Share LAUREL's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
JUDGE LAUREL BABERO Laurel Elizabeth Davis Babero left us November 19, 2018. Laurel grew up in the small town of Milford, Utah, surrounded by a loving family and friends. She was always at the top of her class, and graduated high school at the age of 17. She began her college career at SUU in Cedar City, Utah as a sophomore. Laurel moved to Las Vegas ready to soar and to do her best whether it was great achievement or great adventure! Laurel worked to put herself through college and law school, receiving her B.S. in Hotel Administration from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas in 1983, and her JD, magna cum laude, from the University Of San Diego School Of Law in 1987. After externing for Bankruptcy Judge Louise DeCarl (Malugen) Adler, Laurel was a highly successful bankruptcy attorney, serving as a partner at the law firm of Lionel, Sawyer and Collins, where she practiced from 1994 to 2007, and a partner and director at Fennemore Craig until her promotion to the bench. She has served as a highly respected and admired United States Bankruptcy Judge since 2013. Laurel was preceded in death by her beloved parents, Jack and Betty Davis; and brother, Courtney John Davis. She is survived by her loving husband, Andras F. Babero; stepchildren, Alejandro Z. Babero, Raquel Gabriela Babero, and Anthony Michael Carleo; her devoted sister, Ruth Ann Smith (her husband, Russell, and their children Haily, Kara, Annie and MaCall); brother, Curtis J. Davis (his wife, Shirley, and their children Marjorie, Holly, Joseph, Ryan, Christen and Jennifer); as well as her adored grandnieces and nephews. Her extended family included not only relatives, but her court family and many, many friends. She was also a devoted and doting mother to her four-legged children, who brought her a great deal of happiness. Laurel was dedicated to her community. During her years of private practice, she volunteered countless hours to the community, including her work with Legal Aid of Southern Nevada, the American Diabetes Association, AFAN (Aid for Aids of Nevada), Habitat for Humanity, and the American Heart Association. Laurel loved to travel and was an avid photographer, chronicling her many trips to Africa, Asia, Australia, and Europe, but especially her treasured Hawaii. She attended many plays, concerts (especially Bon Jovi) and dinners with friends and family. She particularly enjoyed officiating at weddings and new citizen ceremonies. Laurel left an imprint on everyone she met and was loved by all who knew her. She will be most remembered for her beautiful smile, infectious laugh, kindness, generosity, and keen intellect. She was a beautiful soul who left us much too soon and will be greatly missed by those fortunate enough to have had her in their lives. Private funeral services will be held in Hawaii. To learn about her favorite charity, Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, visit bestfriends.org.


To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Nov. 25, 2018.
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
17 entries
January 23, 2019
Laurel was a friend for so long, back to the time she was legal assistant to now Judge Evan Wallace and I was right out of law school. We always had fun, whether it was at Ninth Circuit Conferences or dinners or my last extremely rare appearance in BK court where she celebrated seeing me. I was so proud when she was appointed to the bench. I miss her and will always remember her smiling face and the fun of these last 30-plus years. I hope you are able to Rest In Peace, my friend. Your Memory will always be a Blessing.
Carol Davis Zucker
Friend
January 7, 2019
Thank you, Laurel, for the accomplishment, personality and beauty combination by which I, for some reason, always measured success. I will not forget you!
Bonnie Boyce
December 4, 2018
Judge Babero was lovely person. We will always remember her intelligence, sparkling eyes, beautiful smile, infectious laugh, and warm personality. We are sorry for the terrible loss that the Judge's loved ones, family, friends, court family and colleagues feel. Our condolences also go to the legal community who will miss her judicial temperament, emotional intelligence and intellectual curiosity. Although we first met her in 1988, our paths unfortunately did not often cross. However, when they did, we loved visiting with Laurel. She will be missed. Madeleine Wanslee & Brian Mullen
M & B
November 29, 2018
Before taking the bench, she was a thoughtful and fair advocate, even in very difficult matters. She even appreciated a cat enclosure at dinner at our home. My opportunities to appear before her as Judge were limited but reflected her humor and intellect. We are wounded by her departure.

Rob Charles
Rob Charles
November 29, 2018
I met Laurel on a trip to Costa Rica in 2012. She was so much fun to be around. I am so sorry for your loss.
Diane Meyers
November 28, 2018
I recently had bankruptcy filed and she was the judge over my case. I refiled as a pro se Filer and am in the process of reopening my case. I was to set the hearing and file the motion to her and I felt I would be in good hands with her. I am so sorry for the family as they have to process this untimely sad very sad event. Not even having had the chance to meet her quite yet, I know in my heart she was a good and kind individual. Now after her passing I read all the good things she has done and the outstanding person she was I know my gut wasn't misguiding me. I wish I could have at least met with her one time outside or in the courts. May you rest in peace and I already know you will be greatly missed by all because even I miss you not knowing you personally. To the family and friends please be at peace soon. Thanks for allowing me to post this on the site for all to see.
Sincerely,
Shellie A. Worthen
Shellie A. Worthen
November 27, 2018
She was a wonderful judge and easy to be around whenever I appeared in front of her. It's extremely sad to think she won't be on the bench to rule on our cases any more. She had such a pleasant style. She will be missed.
Randal Leonard
November 27, 2018
I'm so sorry for your loss. As you remember your love one, may your precious memories and Almighty God comfort your broken hearts. (Psalm 147:3)
November 27, 2018
I remember judge babero I used to clean her chambers when my wife Bernadette Hernandez was she was a kind and loving woman she used to say hi to me all the time I will truly miss her she used to brighten up my day all the time I worked for opportunity village my name is Christopher Hernandez
Christopher Hernandez
November 26, 2018
Laurel was a wonderful person who will dearly be missed. Our prayers are with her family. May she rest in peace.
James Olson
November 26, 2018
I have already posted my thoughts and feelings about my good friend and colleague, Laurel. All that I would add is that I hope Laurel is in a better place and that those who loved her, as I did, will heal quickly and have nothing but loving and warm memories of this unique and amazing woman.
Jeff Sloane
November 26, 2018
Laurel was a joy to know in person and in practice as well as an honor to appear before. She will be deeply missed. There can be no better tribute than to make a donation in her name to Best Friends.
Charles Kennon
November 26, 2018
You always had a smile and time to share; rare qualities that will be missed.
November 26, 2018
Take your child to work day. Picture with Judge Davis and my daughter.
The Judge's laughter in the halls of the courthouse will be truly missed. She really had a light about her.
My fellow cat lover, Judge (Davis) Babero may you Rest In Peace.
Linda Burks
November 25, 2018
I had my first case in front of Judge Babero this year. (Lucky Dragon Hotel & Casino). I was struck by her fairness and decisiveness. A great judge and person. My deepest sympathies to her family and staff, Kurt Gwynne
Kurt Gwynne
November 25, 2018
May your hearts soon be filled with wonderful memories of joyful times together as you celebrate a life well lived.
Allen Montoya
Friend
November 25, 2018
Candace Carlyon
INVITE OTHERS TO ADD MEMORIES
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences