Stephen J. Haberkorn
1938 - 2019
Share
Share Stephen's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Stephen Joseph Haberkorn, 81, passed away on Monday, June 10, 2019 . He was born on January 6, 1938 to Peter and Anna Haberkorn, in New York. Stephen was a loving father, grandfather, brother, uncle and friend to many.

A big part of what he believed was that if your worth couldn’t help others--then what was the point? He constantly looked for ways to have a positive impact on others and he will forever be remembered as a kind, giving and caring man who did so much for so many.

Stephen is survived by his longtime partner, Bonnie O’Brien, brother Philip (Karen) Haberkorn, sister, Sonia Levy, the mother of his children, Irene Haberkorn, daughter Vicki Abeles, son Matthew (Linda) Haberkorn, daughter Randi (Jonathan) Glassman and Michele (Steve) Lessnick, Grandchildren , Riley, Jamey, Zakary, Joshua, Zev, Kiley, Jaden, Micah and Kira, numerous nieces, nephews and lifelong friends.

Stephen was preceded in death by his parents, Peter and Anna Haberkorn, his older brother Mark Lincoln Haberkorn and his nephew Nathaniel Haberkorn.

Services will be held at Congregation Beth Israel 10460 North 56th Street, Scottsdale, AZ 85253 at 9 am Thursday, June 13, 2019. Burial to follow at Paradise Memorial Gardens, 9300 E Shea Blvd., Scottsdale, AZ 85260, and then Celebration of Life at Congregation Beth Israel following burial Arrangements by Sinai Mortuary.


To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Jun. 14, 2019.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
JUN
13
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
13 entries
June 21, 2020
I knew Tippy most of my life. I havent seen him in years. He was friends with my Father. He used to stop in Dads pawn shop frequently or by the house in the 70s and 80s. There was group of guys, they all had a nickname, Sharpie, Muf, Tippy, The Moose, and many more. All business men from the old neighborhood of what is now west Phoenix. Steve truly was a great man. I havent seen him in many years but would talk to him every few years. He was as modest of a man as they get. He told me when he moved to Vegas and bought a new Escalade he had all the Cadillac emblems removed so people would think it was a just a Tahoe. He didnt want to get car jacked. He was funny. Always time well spent talking and being with Steve. I see the stories people have left and yes they describe Tippy to a tee. I remember he was rear ended one day in his car and never fixed it and continued to drive that Buick or Olds for years after. I know hes missed by all who knew him. My father just found out today that his friend passed away a year ago. Sad news. RIP Tippy!

Lance Lazarus
Lance Lazarus
Friend
June 8, 2020
Everyone here still misses you, I know it must be true. I cant believe that its almost already been a year. I think about you often, and how great of a friend, confident, and mentor you were to me. There is a huge void now without you here. I wonder often what you would think of this world right now, Im sure your faith would keep your spirits positive like you always were. Losing someone that is so important to you, is such a hard thing to grasp, people say tome heals all wounds, but I find that hard to believe. I know deep down in my heart that anyone and everyone that had a chance to know you, has this imprint on their life from everything you have taught and shown them. My life is better for knowing you, my kids life is better for knowing you as well. Sending love to you and your family... anniversaries are supposed to be good, so Im going to think of all the pleasant memories and words of Wisdom you handed down to me over the years of knowing you. Miss you Steve, always will. See you in the stars, my friend.
Kenzie Davis
Friend
June 27, 2019
I have known Mr. Haberkorn my entire life through his amazing friendship with my Dad. I have some of the fondest memories of how giving he was to everyone. His grace and kind heart helped mold the strong family I have today. He will be missed by many and my sincere condolences are with Bonnie & his family. Thank you, Mr. Haberkorn for being such a special person in this world.
Christine Schwartz
June 19, 2019
Mr. Haberkorn was awesome.
justin himelstein
June 19, 2019
To know Steve "Tippy" was to know a Norman Rockwell painting come to life. His strong Jaw, Handsome, smiling face will always be in my mind. I was lucky to know him well. He was a KIND man, genuinely nice person.
He was a man of enormous integrity and wisdom. The picture I posted was from a Newspaper article in 1966. Steve was very young, yet, even then, He was looking after the poor and the elderly, making sure they lived in dignity and respect.
He loved, adored and admired his Mother, Father, Brothers, Children and Grandchildren.
There are so many "Haberkorn" Stories... far too many to mention here.
He came to Phoenix, a young kid, right out of College. He sat on top of South Mountain, looked down at the "checkerboard" little Desert Community and decided to make Phoenix his home. He worked hard to support his Family. He was a wizard with numbers and became a partner in the first McDonald's Hamburger Franchise on Central Avenue. Subsequently he became one of the Founding partners in the ALL STATE Warehouses, which he built and managed.
Eventually, he and his partners, founded Original Outdoor Systems, Inc., which grew from 4 Billboards into one of the largest Outdoor Advertising Companies in the World.
His phenomenal success in business NEVER changed the MAN. He was the same guy who used to drive an old, ugly, Brown Chevy...
He was modest to a fault, and the most generous man in the world. Steve gave tremendous amounts in an anonymous fashion. After a Tornado had wiped out the town of Joplin, He gave $100,000 to that town, but did so thru the Jewish Temple. That story made the New York Times. Steve never wanted to personally take credit. He respected the person who served him Dinner as much as the person who owned the Resort.

He loved his Family...ALL of them. He would tell me how proud he was that his children were all bright, healthy and successful. He was in love and loved his best friend and life-mate, Bonnie O'Brien. He would say, "OBrien is the best person I have ever known".
He adored his Grandchildren, told me how he loved taking his Grandkids to a movie, and seeing them laugh and smile. He told me that was his greatest joy was seeing his Grandchildren laugh or enjoy something he did.
I knew this man for 47 years. I knew him well. He was my confidant. He was my hero, who stood up for me.
I asked him once, "what happens when you die"?
He looked at me, smiled and said, "Jay, you just go to sleep"..
REST IN PEACE, MY friend. I will always miss you.
jay Himelstein
June 18, 2019
Losing a loved one is never easy, but our loving God promises to give the strength and courage you'll need to endure, and to cope with the pain of your loss. He also promises to hold your hand every step of the way. (Isaiah 40:29, 41:10, 13) May loving memories also sustain your family during this difficult time. Ann Smith
June 17, 2019
Grandpa will be dearly missed. He never failed to make me smile no matter what my mood was. I miss his weird jokes and funny stories; he had such a unique sense of humor. Rest easy.
June 16, 2019
Stephen and Matt
Happy Fathers Day dad. Youre missed dearly by many.
Matt Haberkorn
Family
June 15, 2019
Steve was a generous and compassionate man. If he was needed, he tried to help. We wish his family peace and great memories as his good deeds will forever be a blessing.
Fran Fine
June 15, 2019
I am sorry to read of your father's passing. Please accept my condolences. I hope the passage at James 1:13 is a comfort to you.
Maureen
June 14, 2019
JANISE JONES-GRISWOLD
June 14, 2019
Stephen was my neighbor years back. I am so so sorry to learn of his passing and am sending sincere condolences to his family and his friends.
Carole Beath
June 14, 2019
Steve was an amazing person and one of the greatest friends I have ever had. He gave me the best advice and listened to me on a regular basis worry about my son. He had some ... unique jokes! Always positive and had the greatest outlook on life. I don't think I have ever met anyone as giving as he was. He literally helped me through some of the toughest times of my life and I was not ready to say goodbye.. in fact I did not get to tell him goodbye.. it's very selfish of me, but I wish I had the opportunity to hear one more joke, just one more time.. or get a big Steve hug before telling him goodbye. He was the biggest giver, had the biggest heart.. and I do miss him terribly bad. He lived a great life, had all the little trinkets anyone could ask for, and all the friends and family to follow. I wish I could of come to the service to give my condolences but I had to stay back with my son. We love him and miss him terribly!
Mckenzie Mildfelt
INVITE OTHERS TO ADD MEMORIES
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences