ERNEST MAZZAFERRI Sr., M.D.
Share
Share ERNEST's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Ernest Mazzaferri Sr., M.D., MACP Sept. 27, 1936-May 14, 2013 Ernest Louis Mazzaferri Sr., M.D., MACP, of Henderson, was born Sept. 27, 1936, in Cleveland, the only child to Nettie and Joe Mazzaferri. Ernie passed away peacefully at home May 14, 2013, surrounded by his family. After a romance that began in the ninth grade, Ernie married his best friend, lover and lifelong partner, Florence Marolt, Nov. 23, 1957. Their 55-year marriage produced four beautiful children, Patricia Atchison (Jim, DO) of Oak Park, Ill., Mike Mazzaferri (Denise) of Reno, Sharon Brown (Ray) of Las Vegas, and Ernest Mazzaferri Jr., M.D. (Laura) of Columbus, Ohio. He is also survived by 14 grandchildren, Carolyn Knopfle (Ryan), TJ and Julianne Atchison, Ally and John Mazzaferri, Crystal Aichele-Fauls and Justine Aichele, Taylor Quienalty, Ray III, Joseph and Olivia Brown, and Amanda, Ryan and Christopher Mazzaferri; and six great-grandchildren, Emily Knopfle, Adley Uranga, Jayden and Aunika Fauls, and Josuha and Jakob Aichele. He also leaves behind his adored sister-in-law, Joanne Nagy, and her family. In 1958, he graduated from John Carroll University, cum laude, with a B.S. in biology and continued on to earn his M.D. at The Ohio State University in 1962. He proudly served as a captain in the U.S. Air Force from 1964-66, and as a lieutenant colonel from 1970-72. He dutifully served his country, on active duty status, during Desert Storm as a colonel at Madigan Army Medical Center in Seattle. His military career concluded with the Meritorious Service Medal in 1991. Professor Mazzaferri spent most of his medical career at The Ohio State University, serving as division director of endocrinology from 1974-78, then chairman of internal medicine from 1984-1999, during which time the Department of Medicine grew five-fold. From 1978-1984, he was chairman of internal medicine at the University of Nevada-Reno, serving as acting dean from 1979-81. He published more than 160 peer reviewed articles, wrote more than 150 medical editorials, case studies, and abstracts, and edited or co-authored 53 medical text books. At the peak of his academic career, he was generally regarded as one of the world's experts on thyroid cancer, and was an active participant in writing the American and European Guidelines for this disease. He won the prestigious Paul Starr Award from the American Thyroid Association in 2009 for his fundamental contributions to improving the care of patients with this form of cancer. Ohio State became a world-class center for the study of thyroid disease under his leadership. He was elected as a master in the American College of Physicians in 1996, served as chair of the American Board of Internal Medicine Endocrinology and Diabetes section, and was a member of the American Board of Internal Medicine Board of Directors from 1999-2003. In 1990, he was appointed membership in the prestigious American Clinical and Climatological Association, served as president of the American Thyroid Association in 2005-06, and was a Committee or Panel Member on several occasions for the National Academy of Sciences and Institute of Medicine. His awards from the medical community are too numerous to list; however, he felt great pride from his awards for teaching and patient care, as well as The Ohio State University Distinguished Service Award in 2009. Above all of his accomplishments in medicine, Dr. Mazzaferri was most proud of the thousands of students, interns, residents, and fellows that he mentored throughout his illustrious career. The family would like to express its gratitude for the many forms of condolence it has received during this difficult time. A private family memorial service for Dr. Mazzaferri will be held at a later date. As a special request, in lieu of flowers, the family requests donations to The Ohio State University, Division of Endocrinology, Ernest L. Mazzaferri Sr., M.D. Thyroid Fund, 1581 Dodd Drive, McCampbell Hall 5th Floor, Columbus, OH 43210 or "Keep Memory Alive" Cleveland Clinic Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health, 888 W. Bonneville Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89106.




To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal from May 18 to May 19, 2013.
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
31 entries
September 10, 2013
I will always remember him as a great friend, classmate and teacher.
Jay Lawrence, MD
August 24, 2013
Drs. Pushpa and Jagdesh Bathija send the deepest condolences to The Mazzaferri family.
He was great mentor to me ,a great clinician and a wonderful human being!

Pushpa J Bathija MD.
( Fellow 1975 OSU.)
Pushpa Bathija
July 19, 2013
Ernie was a great doctor, a distinguished colleague and a gentleman. I shall always remember his smile.
Hossein Gharib
July 11, 2013
I found out today from a colleague about Ernie's premature death. He was my hero!
Judy Donegan
A patient whose life he saved
June 16, 2013
I always turned to his scientific works for clinical guidance.THANKS Dr Mazzaferri !
My prayers and condolence to the family!
Blesilda Pono
June 6, 2013
I was shocked and saddened to hear of Ernie's death. He was a very special person. He was a very big part of many of our junior and senior high school memories. He will be missed. Florence, I mourn your loss.
June 5, 2013
Ernie and I were residents together at OSU and I had the greatest respect for him. He will be missed.
Stephen Natelson
June 2, 2013
Dear Florence & Family,

It is with great sadness to hear of Ernie's untimely passing. Kathe and I wish to extend our deepest sympathy and prayers. May God's blessings be with you and your family
in this time of deepest sorrow.

I often recall the many wonderful memories of our friendship during those early years and throughout the years. I will cherish them always. Ernie was one of those special
friends a person is fortunate to have in a lifetime and he will never be forgotten. Ciao, Ernie, mi amico.
Dick Pizzuti
June 2, 2013
Florence: I am so saddened to hear of Ernie's death! I will always remember you and Ernie with fondness!

Sue Ferguson
June 2, 2013
Dear Florence and Family
We are heartbroken over your loss. Our deepest sympathy, prayers and love.
Bob & Joan Gallitto Canfield OH.
May 31, 2013
Sorry to hear about Dr. Ernie. He will be missed. My condolence to the family.
Sam Ventura,class of 49 and former HOF chair at Collinwood. Prayer be with you.
SAM VENTURA
May 31, 2013
I don't think I ever saw Ernie without that great smile on his face. I am sure he is in a very special place now and we will be reunited with him. God Bless Florence and family. Bill Richards, class of 54
May 31, 2013
Dear Florence, I am so sorry to hear of Ernies passing. You two were such a big part of my high school memories. He will be deeply missed by all who knew him. Blessings to you and your family.
Pat Schehl Catarrino
May 31, 2013
The world has lost a great man. I was in the room when Ernie made his first phone call to Florence for a date. They never left each others side from that time on. Goodby my dear friend.
Tom Contorno
May 24, 2013
I worked for Mazz in the early 70's. It was fun and a lot of hard work, especially when editing his work. I spent visited the house when the kids were little and I cannot believe what their future held. I know you will miss him and my prayers are with you. He will always be in your heart
Kathy Bruno
May 22, 2013
I am very saddened to hear of Dr Mazzaferri's untimely death. He was always extremely accessible for consultations on difficult thyroid patients. I thoroughly enjoyed his educational dinners in Sacramento with my Endocrinology colleagues, when he was on the Reno faculty.
Barbara Livermore
May 22, 2013
I was heartbroken to learn of Dr. Mazzaferri's passing, he was my favorite doctor and I doubt that I will ever meet another that is as compassionate and caring as he.
Karen Tyler
May 21, 2013
My deepest sympathy and prayers go out to the entire Mazzaferi family. I feel very fortunate to have known Dr. Mazzaferi. He was an caring, compassionate physician and an outstanding educator. He will truly be missed.
Lisa Evoy
May 20, 2013
I learned so much from Ernie. He was such a wonderful and caring man who will truly be missed.
Kelli Powell
May 20, 2013
Ernie was one of my favorites. He was a giant in the field of endocrinology. A great doctor and and kind and compassionate man. He will be deeply missed.

Jim Gallo
May 20, 2013
Florence
Ernie was one of my very favorite people. I am so sorry for your loss. Much love
Lisa Mount
May 20, 2013
You are my hero! RIP
May 20, 2013
Dr. Mazzaferri saved my life many years ago when he discovered my Thyroid problems. He said I was one of his rare cases having to take the treatment three times. I will never forget the day he came down to check on me and invited me back to his office to talk more about my case. Then he walked me down the hall and showed me the way to get out of OSU Hospital. He was the best! I will always be greatful to him. Please know that he will be remembered in a very special way.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Morgan
Gahanna, Ohio
May 19, 2013
Dear Florence and family
We are deeply sorry for your loss and our thoughts and prayers are with you.
Love
Phil and Sharon
Phil Drage
May 19, 2013
Dr. Mazzaferri was a great physician, scientist, and friend to my entire family. He lives on in his children who have inherited many of his great attribures.
Philip Binkley
May 19, 2013
May the love of friends and family carry you through your grief.
john marolt
May 19, 2013
Dr. Mazzaferri was an exceptional doctor who cared about his patients. He was a hero.
Amanda Kelleher
May 19, 2013
AJ and Claire Grill send our sincere condolences to the family. May God bless you all in this time of sorrow.
May 19, 2013
The world has lost a great individual and I have lost a friend who was like a brother. Deepest sympathy.
Paul Disantis
May 19, 2013
Dr. Claude and Linda Lardinois send their deepest condolences to the Mazzaferri Family. Ernie was a great mentor and friend.
Claude Lardinois
May 18, 2013
Dr. Mazzaferri helped me get thru a pulmonary embolism at the age of 40. I am eternally grateful. My deepest sympathy, mgl
INVITE OTHERS TO ADD MEMORIES
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences