JOHN JEFFREY
1938 - 2014
{ "" }
Share
Share JOHN's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
JOHN JEFFREY John "Jack" Jeffrey, of Henderson, passed away at the age of 76, Thursday, Oct. 10, 2014, after a long courageous battle with illness. Born July 20, 1938, in Sioux City, Iowa, Jack moved with his parents and four older sisters to Henderson in 1941. Jack became active in political campaigns before he was old enough to vote, eventually serving as a Henderson City Councilman, Mayor Pro-tem and ultimately becoming elected into the Nevada State Assembly representing Henderson, Boulder City, Moapa Valley, Laughlin, and outlying areas of southern Nevada in 1974. He quickly rose into leadership positions becoming a three-time Majority Floor Leader and chairman of the committees on Economic Development and Natural Resources. After a seat loss in 1990, he returned to the Assembly as a contract lobbyist for union and worker's rights interests until 2010. In addition to his political work he also served as secretary treasurer of the Central Labor Council and the Southern Nevada Building and Construction Trades Council and a member of IBEW #357. Known for his good humor and candor, Jack always fought for the Nevada working class and remains widely respected and admired among his colleagues and community. He is survived by his high school sweetheart and wife, of 58 years, Betty (nee Brown) Jeffrey; his three children, John, Teresa and Paul; sisters, Janice Jordan and Alice Purvis; his eight grandchildren, Alicia Brown, Tricia Brisendine, Brandon Alger, Janae Viau, Rachel Alger, Kody Jeffrey, Stephen Jeffrey and Bailey Jeffrey; and 13 great-grandchildren. Visitation services will be 8:30-10:30 a.m. Friday, Oct. 17, at Palm Mortuary, 800 S. Boulder Highway. Mass of Christian burial following at 11 a.m. at St. Peters Catholic Church, 204 S. Boulder Highway. There will be a post funeral reception following 1-3 p.m. at the Henderson Convention Center at 200 Water St.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Oct. 16, 2014.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
OCT
17
OCT
17
Mass of Christian Burial
11:00 AM
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Palm Boulder Highway Mortuary and Cemetery
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
10 entries
March 24, 2015
Betty, Teresa, Mike and Paul, So sorry for your loss! My family has the honor of having known you since the early 1960's. You were great neighbors, always had a smile, and you and Jack both had great patience with the antics Teresa and I would pull.... : ) Thank you for being so good to me. You've given me some wonderful memories, and I think of you all often, and with love.
Phyllis and family, Cody, Clara, Kelly, Floyd, Wendy, and Ruth (Wilkins).
Phyllis Wilkins
October 17, 2014
I am so sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with all of you. Afton George
October 17, 2014
It saddens our hearts to hear of your loss. I remember every time when I would see Mr. and Mrs. Jeffrey they always had smiles on their face. Sometimes seeing them would make things a little better, like at my dad's services Larry (Babe) Hornyak. I thank you for that. Your family has always had a special place in our hearts. When I say this I'm talking about all The Hornyak's. Billie, Beverly, Jerry, Tracy and Recie, Brenda, Tony, John. Our thoughts and prayers go out to you Betty, John, Teresa and Paul. Jack will be deeply missed by all who knew and loved him.
Beverly Hornyak
October 16, 2014
Jack was a tremendous man and I have fond memories of reporting on his efforts at the State Legislature. He will be missed.. Steve Schorr
October 16, 2014
Rachal...I understand you were very close ....I remember once some one told me you only grieve because you were fortunate to have the love ...it's so true and hooe it will help you in the days to come....love y'all Xxxooo sending hugs to share your pain...
Aunt Marcia Bonanno
October 16, 2014
our thoughts and prayers are with you at this time. so sorry for your for your loss.

The Daily Family
October 16, 2014
So sorry for your loss thoughts and prayers for your family .
Theresa Madrid-Mestas
October 16, 2014
Jack was one of the first people I met on arriving in Henderson in 1977, and he has been a friend all these years. I knew him as a community leader and as a Legislator and later an advocate in Carson City. He was always available for advice and support, and I enjoyed our visits over a steak at Bodine's. Henderson has lost a valued leader who did much for the community, both known and unknown, and many of us have lost a personal friend.
Bob Campbell
October 16, 2014
Jack Will be missed by all of us at the at the Southern Nevada Building and Construction Trades Council. His contribution to the lives of the working class will survive forever. Thank You Jack and Betty
Darren Enns
October 16, 2014
My sympathies to Betty and family! Jack was an amazing man and Nevadans owe him a debt of gratitude! I was lucky to know him!
Mary Lou Foley
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences