FRANK LAMPING
1930 - 2014
{ "" }
Share
Share FRANK's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
FRANK LAMPING Frank J. Lamping went home to be with his Heavenly Father Nov. 11, 2014. He dedicated his life to education having served students of the Clark County School District for over 30 years. Frank, a first-generation American, was born March 23, 1930, to Gabriel and Rose Lamping, in Pittsburgh. He attended St. Ambrose Catholic Elementary School and North Catholic High School. After serving in the U.S. Army during the Korean War, he received a bachelor's degree at Slippery Rock Teacher's College and master of education at the University of Pittsburgh. While teaching at Schenley High School in Pittsburgh, he was recruited by the Clark County School District to be their first special education coordinator. He was a principal for the Clark County School District for over 30 years, serving at Paradise Elementary, Hyde Park, Orr and Burkholder Middle School. He was privileged to open two new schools, Kenny C. Guinn Junior High and Thurman White Middle School. He was instrumental in developing the middle school concept in the District and was often referred to by those who worked for him as the "Guru of Middle School Education." Under his guidance, Guinn Junior High was the first school in Nevada to receive the President's Excellence in Education Award. White was recognized as the most outstanding middle school by the Western Regional Middle School Consortium. Frank had also served on the Board of Directors of St. Rose Hospital, Bishop Gorman High School, the Exchange Club the Boys Club of Clark County, the Governor's Commission on Education Excellence, Nevada Department of Education Committee on Middle School Development, was Nevada Representative of the National Beta Club and had been the Southern Regional Vice President of the Congressional Awards Council of Nevada. He was instrumental in placing Freedom Shrines in many elementary schools. He also worked briefly as a senior vice president at Valley Bank. He was past president of St. Viator's Parish Council and member of the St. Viator and Guardian Angel Cathedral Choirs. He was currently a parishioner of St. Thomas More Catholic Church. He received numerous awards including the University of Notre Dame Exemplar Award for Education, the Milkin National Educators Award, Profiles in Excellence from the American School Board Association, the Exchange Club's Book of Golden Deeds Award, Outstanding Principal of the Year Award and induction into the CCSD Education Hall of Fame. His greatest honor was having an elementary school named in his behalf. He made regular visits to Lamping Elementary to read to children and to honor its outstanding students and faculty. He once stated, "All I ever wanted in my career was to make a difference in the lives of the next generation." He accomplished his goal by touching the hearts and minds of thousands of students and educators who over many years have benefited from his dedication and commitment to education. Frank was preceded in death by his parents; siblings, Albert, Willie, Helen, Robert and Mildred; and first wife, Betty Lee Kirk Lamping. He is survived by his caring wife, Rose; sons, Kirk and Clark; daughters-in-law, Sharena and Bonnie; grandchildren, Jared, Jessica, Ryan and Jack Reagan; brother, Joseph of Pittsburgh; stepdaughters, Lianne (Vince) and Victoria (John); and stepgrandchildren, Katharine, Claudia, Ron and Ryan. In lieu of flowers, contributions can be made to the Frank Lamping Memorial Fund at Lamping Elementary School. Memorial services will be at 10 a.m. Saturday, Nov. 22, at St. Thomas More Church, 130 N. Pecos Road. Reception following at 11:30 a.m. at Lamping Elementary School, 2551 Summit Grove Drive, Henderson, NV 89052.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Las Vegas Review-Journal on Nov. 16, 2014.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
NOV
22
Memorial service
10:00 AM
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Davis Funeral Home & Memorial Park
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
21 entries
July 23, 2016
I was raised only a few homes away from where Frank and his wonderful family lived on Overbeck street. It was on a hillside on the Northside of Pittsburgh which was often called Deutschtown. I was younger than Frank and he and his buddies were the big kids to me and my buddies. The area where we lived on the Northside/Deutschtown was called Spring Hill and we always considered our side of the hill as the poor and neglected side of Spring Hill. Most of us kids in the neighborhood went to Saint Ambrose school which was a very German parish with strict rules that were enforced absolutely by the Nuns of Divine Providence. There was no such answer that could be given as " I forgot or left my homework at home." His parents were always very kind to me as was his siblings. His sisters often took me and my little brother to the North Park swimming pool. Many time as we walked to mass on Sundays we met up with the Lamplings and others from Overbeck street. I am sure from what I have read after his passing from his friends in Nevada that many of the tributes told about him were placed in his heart and mind from our upbringing on that Pittsburgh Hillside many long years ago. I will keep him in ay prayers. Ambrose Korn Jr. Or Butch as I was known to Frank and his family.
Butch Korn
June 9, 2015
Sorry to hear Rose, no one called to let me know. He was a great great man.

Sincerely; John R. Mourgos
November 22, 2014
Condolences to the family on the loss of such an inspirational and dedicated man. I was a "wet behind the ear" new teacher in 1971 and was hired by Mr. Lamping at Hyde Park Junior High. His mentoring, guidance and high expectations are still remembered to this day. I was with Frank for 12 years at his various schools, Hyde Park, Wm. Orr and Burkholder. I moved away to California where I remained in education for 40 years. I have had many administrators during that time, and I still tell everyone to this day that I started with the best principal one could ever hope for and none ever came close to Frank Lamping. He was a wonderful man and educator that truly cared for his students and expected teachers to strive for excellence in all they do...that was his mission and that is why every school that was lucky enough to have him as principal thrived and grew into a model for success. Heaven has a new guardian angel.
Becky Aten (Payne/Harkins)
November 21, 2014
Our deepest sympathy to Rose and Frank's families. It was an honor to know such a great man and consider him a friend. He will be remembered often and always with a smile. Our thoughts and prayers are with your families at this time. With loving respect,
Gary, Karin and Jacque
Jacquelyn VanNorman
November 21, 2014
Our deepest sympathy to Rose and Frank's families. It was an honor to know such a great man and consider him a friend. He will be thought of often and always with a smile. Our thoughts are with your families at this time. With loving respect,
Gary,Karin and Jacque
Gary Smith
November 21, 2014
I had just arrived in LV from Iowa with no phone hook-up when a telegram was delivered to my door. To my surprise it was a request for an interview for the new Kenny Guinn Jr. High. I traveled to the nearest 7-11 to respond when I was told to proceed to Cashman(where Frank had a temporary office)immediately as dressed! I had been cleaning so was not attired properly for such an important event. He told me to come as I was and it would be fine. I was honored to have worked with Frank and my first teaching experience here was a tremendous help to me. I stayed at Guinn 22 years until I retired. I will always remember Mr. Lamping as a professional and devoted individual who had extreme pride in his staff, students and school. He will certainly be missed!
Lorraine Lange
November 19, 2014
Frank Lamping (Mr. Lamping) was my principal at Hyde Park Jr. High School 1970-73. Cool, calm, and even keeled. A true leader and great administrator. A man I always have always respected and remembered. Condolences to the family
Brian Fike
November 19, 2014
Clark, I am very sorry to hear about the loss of your Father. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. May God Bless you and your family during this difficult time.
All my love,
Lisa Czarny
Lisa Czarny
November 18, 2014
Love and prayers to you all as you grieve the tremendous loss of a wonderful man. A man who touched thousands of lives, he was a positive role model for many of us. Thank you for sharing him. May God hold you and keep you as you continue life's journey with him in your heart.
Sheri Witkowski
November 18, 2014
With Frank passing, our hearts and prayers go out to all of the family and friends of Frank and Rosie. What a TERRIFIC person he was!!
Jo and Steve Varner
November 18, 2014
My Dear Friend. I will miss our conversations and especially your jokes - no one can tell them better than you. Thank you for always being there for me and my boys. You will always have a special spot in my heart and my memories. My thoughts and prayers are with you, Rose, Clark, Kirk and the family. Take care. We will miss you
Dianna and Jim
Dianna and Jim Menzel
November 17, 2014
My thoughts and prayers are with the Lamping family at this time. My husband, Carl, and I worked at CCSD during the same time as Frank. Carl passed away February 12 this year and I know he and Frank will enjoy visiting in Heaven.
Sue DeBerardinis
November 17, 2014
Dear Uncle Frank, An emptiness will always be in our hearts, but I know we will be together one day..so it's not goodbye but until we meet again. We will remember all the happy times, and think of all the lives you have touched, then our tears will eventually give way to smiles. Love Always
Jim and Lois Nicholson
November 17, 2014
So very sorry for your loss. Losing those we love is a heartbreaking experience, but God cares and through his word he comforts us. "He hears your prayers and sees your tears." (2 Kings 20:5 NWT)
J.W.
November 17, 2014
May God Bless you know that your with him... You will Be Missed....
Xavier Jesus Avila
November 16, 2014
Very sad to learn of Mr Lamping's passing. I still use his advice - when we meet, we eat - with great success. His passion, humour, energy, and drive were amazing. With deepest sympathy to the family,
Terre Maize
Terre Maize
November 16, 2014
May God bless you and your family in this time of sorrow.
Steffanie Wise-Dolar
November 16, 2014
Thank you Frank for all your prayers ,visits and phone calls and caring for us when you weren't feeling well yourself. Your reward in heaven will be great! Our heartfelt condolences to Rose and Clark and Kirk and your family. We are keeping all of you in our thoughts and prayers. God bless you!
Patricia and John Snyder
November 16, 2014
Mr. Lamping was a great man that always cared and listened to everthing you had to say. The Clark County School District was lucky to recruit such a great man. His sons Kirk and Clark are filling in his shoes well. God bless you Mr. Lamping and may you rest in peace.
Christopher Cawthern
November 16, 2014
Colleen Moore
November 16, 2014
Thank you Mr. Lamping we all learned because you cared!
Your kindness made all the difference in the world May God Bless You Dearly.
Colleen Moore
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences